A Week With G.K. Chesterton (Thursday)

This week, I thought I would give you some of my favorite G.K. Chesterton quotes. The guy was one of those writers who is endlessly quotable. He was a British thinker and author who died in 1936, a Catholic, and a significant influence on the thinking of C.S. Lewis. He wrote some deeply theological things, but he was very humorous too. His book, Orthodoxy, is one of my favorites.

On this Thursday in Chesterton Week…

“Exactly what does breed insanity is reason. Poets do not go mad; but chess-players do. Mathematicians go mad, and cashiers; but creative artists very seldom. I am not, as will be seen, in any sense attacking logic: I only say that this danger does lie in logic, not in imagination.”

“The poet only asks to get his head into the heavens. It is the logician who seeks to get the heavens into his head. And it is his head that splits.” 

One thought on “A Week With G.K. Chesterton (Thursday)

  1. Chessplayers, mathematicians, and cashiers do not go mad because they are logical. They
    go mad because they are trying to live with poets and artists. 🙂

    I love your blog!

Comments are closed.