Rabbit Trails (7/14/12)

Hopping down the WWRT this week…

I thought this post from iMonk was insightful as they discussed the value of so much of the bad theology in popular Christian publishing. What are you reading? Are you reading “Christian” fiction pot boiler junk? Are you reading those authors that always tell you what you want to hear? Are you hearing about Jesus, and being challenged to think deeply?

LOVE this article from The Atlantic on the health advantages of coffee. Here is a series of links leading to top research on the health benefits of coffee. I fully admit I’m a coffee snob, and for whatever reason, I only find those studies that support my habit to be credible. Long live the Black Death!

You might have heard about the kayaker being trailed by a Great White. That is my worst fear. Ever since my parents let me watch “Jaws” when I was five years old, nothing else even comes close. The sight of that fin near me, and I’d probably drop dead on the spot.

I don’t know why I’m so fascinated by this stuff. Maybe it’s because I’m out in nature as much as possible. I’ve lived in Florida, and been in water swimming, boating, or kayaking with alligators in the vicinity several times, but I never swim in water that isn’t clear. Even then, we always leave a lookout on the boat. Gators aren’t crocs, but they are dangerous.This story out of Florida about a teen who lost his arm to an alligator shows that reality TV really can save your life.

Have you seen this? Someone did a study to determine if people Tweeted more about beer or church. The results are interesting in a goofy kind of way. I have no idea what this indicates or why it matters. But I guess if you want to win a trivia contest you have more useless info to put into your file of useless info.

The Hobbits are coming on December 14th.

