Rabbit Trails (8/11/12)

Hopping down the WWRT this week…

Procrastinators of the world unite…tomorrow! I loved this article about procrastinators, of whom I am chief. Turns out that procrastination is a way of not doing a job perfectly that doesn’t need to be done perfectly. Procrastination is not really a waste of time. It is a way of using time to foster creativity that leads productivity when a deadline gets close. I could’ve told you that!

This post by John Frye really resonates with me. Pastors need to follow the example of the Good Shepherd, Jesus. I too have been bored with the Jesus I inherited, and he is nothing like the Jesus I see in scripture.

This is interesting…Michael Dell (Dell Computer) is having trouble keeping his kids safe because of how they use Twitter and Facebook.

This article from Christianity Today on why divorce calls a child’s existence into question is really important. I have a few adult friends whose parents divorced when they were in college. All of them said it was as if they went away to college, and their home disappeared. They were cast off with no roots.

Sorry, I just can’t let it go. The iMonk did a much better story on Barton than I did this week. Jeff points out something that should be obvious to all students of the Bible, when Barton starts saying there are parts of constitution taken verbatim out of scripture and then gives references, go look those up. The man distorts scripture to fit his purpose. Bad interpretation. Bad theology. Watch the video…

The problem? The scripture he lists, Exodus 18:21, Deuteronomy 1:13-16, and Deuteronomy 16:18, are instructions for the Israelites to select and appoint judges over themselves to protect justice among the people. They are similar to a republican form of government, but the comparison ultimately falls flat because the judges were not to govern the people, but to remind the people they were governed by God. God was not establishing a republic among the people of Israel. He was establishing a theocracy. Similarity between the Old Testament passages and republican government does not mean that the republican system of government comes from the Bible. Just because there are similarities, it does not mean that the founders had scripture in mind when they formed our government. Maybe they did, but Barton is severely overstating his case to say that those verses are found verbatim in the constitution. Barton has a pre-determined conclusion, and he is making the biblical data fit that conclusion. He does this with the Bible a lot. Read it for yourself. The man’s method of reading historical documents is seriously flawed. I’ll let others debate how he interprets political documents, but I’ll take my place with those who point out that David Barton badly misuses scripture.

Just for fun, one of the most watched Youtube videos of all time…

2 thoughts on “Rabbit Trails (8/11/12)

  1. Thanks Daniel. My concern here is for the integrity of the Church.

    I happen to believe that at the founding America did have a general underpinning of Christian morals, and that basic morality, belief in the providence of God, and individual human responsibility to that God are part of the fabric of the founders’ thinking. More than half the founders were likely Christians in the historical/orthodox sense. I do think the founders assumed a nation full of Christians, but that is different than saying they founded a Christian nation. Am I making sense?

    My problem with Barton is that he over simplifies history and doesn’t allow for the religious nuance in his interpretation because he has a political agenda. I hate political agendas masquerading as Christian belief.

Comments are closed.