It’s Over Between Us

It’s not you, it’s me. If anything, you’ve only gotten sweeter with time. You have been my companion on many, many mornings. We get up and meet the world together, but two hours later, you’re gone. You don’t understand how it makes me feel when you leave me. I am weaker, and worse for our being together. You promise to be there for me, but you really aren’t. I always want more, but more of you is not better for me, and I need to be concerned about ME.

You seem like you should be good for me. You can be well balanced, but too often you come up short on substance. The worst part is how you make me feel. You don’t really make me feel better about myself. In the few moments we’re together, I’m happy, but in the long run, I’m less healthy from my time I spend with you.

You weigh me down. I’m less alert, less energetic, more sluggish, and more empty because of you. Oh, you show me smiling faces, and try to keep me Cheery, but in the end, it just isn’t true.

We’ve grown apart. I don’t know how else to say it. You’ve basically stayed the same for years, but I’ve changed. I’ve matured. I’m starting to get old, but you are forever preserved. We just don’t work well together anymore, so I’ve got to call it quits.

I’m sorry to break it to you this way. I suppose the time we’ve spent together deserves something different than this, but let’s face the truth – you will always be around. I know I’ll be out at the local grocery store some day soon, and you’ll see me there. I’ll try to avoid you, but I’ll see you too. The truth is, my family still loves you, so you’ll never really be gone.

I know how this is going to go. You’ll hang around just long enough to get me to interact with you again. You’ll tempt me, and you won’t play fair. You’ll manipulate my appetites, and strike when I’m weakest, but I’m determined not to fail this time.

Good-bye Breakfast Cereal. It’s over between us.

5 thoughts on “It’s Over Between Us

  1. Breakups are so sad!

    Quite few years back I really got hooked on healthy cereals, and I enjoy them … it’s like eating vegetables, knowing that they’re good for you and they can taste good, too.

    My kids say they don’t have any taste (cheerios, wheaties, shredded wheat, grape nuts, etc.), but I tell them it just takes a while to get used to cereals that aren’t drenched in sugar – and when you do, you’ll realize they do have taste. They don’t believe me.

    So, what’s going to replace your breakfast cereals? (donuts?!!!!) 🙂

    • It’s all about the carbs. Too many carbs. I try to eat eggs or other sources of protein for breakfast. Carbs are my Kryptonite.

  2. I was afraid you were talking about coffee! I never eat cereal…can go much longer with a protein breakfast.

  3. I’m with you on the carbs … the simple carbs – mostly corn-based, such as anything with high fructose corn syrup, and the corn based cereals. There are many complex carbs that also have significant amounts of protein, too (with lots of fiber, also). As far as proteins, It does amaze me how adding eggs, yogurt, or p-butter, to breakfast, keeps me from getting hungry again for a longer period of time.

Comments are closed.