Guest Post: Pulpit Freedom Sunday: Do We Really Think This Is a Good Idea? | internetmonk.com

I had a mix of opinions about Pulpit Freedom Sunday. For one, I don’t like the notion that a government agency has power over what a pastor can and can’t say from the pulpit.

But…

I have real problems when a pastor loses focus on his purpose as a proclaimer of Jesus Christ. Further, in this particular election, I have problems with both candidates, and without going into detail, my problems with each are significant to me precisely because I’m a Christian. (And no, I don’t have a problem with a Mormon president.)

That said, this post from the Internetmonk.com gives some good perspective on issues like this.

Guest Post: Pulpit Freedom Sunday: Do We Really Think This Is a Good Idea? | internetmonk.com.

One thought on “Guest Post: Pulpit Freedom Sunday: Do We Really Think This Is a Good Idea? | internetmonk.com

  1. Wow. This article is fantastic. Thank u for posting. I have 2 comments: 1) There’s enough political talk everywhere around, let’s hear more about Christ.
    and
    2) this really hit me hard “During the time of the prophets, for example, Judah’s kings were tempted to enter into alliances with the super powers of the time, Assyria or Egypt. Yet, to the prophets, these alliances with political powers were a sign of unfaithfulness, as Ezekiel makes clear…”

Comments are closed.