Pastors Get To Do Fun Stuff

Before my role as an associate pastor, I served for three years as youth pastor. Before that, I volunteered with youth, and was part-time youth minister for a combined 9 years. The truth is, I never felt like I fit in as a youth pastor. After a few years of full-time ministry, I ran out of gas, but I’ve never lost concern for youth, and I love how they want to have tough conversations.

Last night, I had the privilege of teaching our catechism class of 7th and 8th graders. I loved it. I got to walk to them through the history and theology of the Apostles’ and Nicene Creed. They were smart and inquisitive. The conversation roamed far and wide, they asked great questions, and we got to laugh a little too. Imagine that, actually having fun talking about theology! They thought it would be funny to pronounce anathemas on people during the announcement time of our worship service. “Attention! This morning we pronounce anathema against Johnny Smith!”

It was fun to teach a bunch of kids who really want to know and understand what they believe and church history too. I hope they never lose that. I hope I never lose that.

