Rabbit Trails (7/6/13)

Hopping down the WWRT this week…

I’ve lived in several states in my life, and I can say that all of them have unique things about them that make them special, but the current region we call home has one of the most unique traditions. I admit to loving it. What am I talking about? The wedding cookie table. I’ve been to wedding receptions in grange halls and VFW halls, cathedrals and repurposed monasteries, hotels and bed and breakfasts, and there is always – always – a cookie table. I’ve never seen it anywhere else in the country. It’s a Pittsburgh thing.

While I’m on the topic of Pittsburgh, I read somewhere once that there are 32 distinct ethnic neighborhoods in the ‘Burgh. Here’s an old archived article from 2003 talking about the old immigrant, blue-collar neighborhoods, and how they are changing.

Given the SCOTUS rulings last week, I spent a little time listening to a really solid podcast from Dallas Theological Seminary called The Table. The discussion revolves around what the rulings in the Prop 8 and DOMA cases do and not do, and how we can respond. About an hour long, and very good.

Back in June, Christianity Today published a fascinating article about the Baptist Church of Georgia (the country, not the state) describing how they are a baptist church that worships in the historical and liturgical Orthodox tradition.

In the spirit of country and paddling, Canoe and Kayak magazine posted it’s top five fireworks floats. Pittsburgh made the list. I knew it would.

Did you see this? An Alaskan fisherman caught a 200 year old, 40 pound fish!

I’ve been a fan of William Lane Craig for a few years now. I’ve listened to many of his debates. He basically crushes his opponents, and some of the most prominent atheists won’t debate him. This article in the Chronicle of Higher Education explains why.

One thought on “Rabbit Trails (7/6/13)

  1. Eric, great picks this week. I’d like to pick up the cookie table idea for my family!

Comments are closed.